As we approach the end of the school year, we have been asked a few times if we are winding down our school year too. As infinite learners, we aren’t. There is no beginning and no end to our education.

It caused me to look at our cultural beliefs and wonder how it came to be that we (collectively) believe that a person’s most valuable learning happens between the ages of 6 and 18 in the confines of an institution.

When I reflect on my own learning experiences, I see how I learned my letters and ability to read before I went to school, how I learned about relationships and social interactions from my family, how the things I value most as an adult, are the concepts, skills and crafts I’ve learned as an adult, most often, on my own. It challenged me to ask, what exactly DID I learn in school and were they things that are really important in the grander scheme of my life?

I remember sitting in certain classes in high school wondering when I’d ever use a particular skill. Technology and things are changing so rapidly right now, many of our children will be doing careers that aren’t even created yet, so how do we know what skills they will need to learn? I have learned that things I’m not so good at are things I can either avoid, hire someone else to do or use a computer to help make it easier. And things that didn’t interest me at all in school, suddenly became my greatest passion to when it suddenly became relevant in my life.

So, as I reflect, once again, about education and learning, I see there really is no beginning and no end and no bounds to how or where a person does their most significant learning. I feel my greatest education happened when I wasn’t in school…so perhaps we should give kids more time off school so they can really learn some important things.